Item Details

General Information

Item Name:
Ties That Bind: Familial Homophobia and Its Consequences
Item Description:
(171 Pages) In this groundbreaking book, playwright and social critic Sarah Schulman explores the family, the first place where all people: straight, gay, and bisexual, learn homophobia. It is within the family that homophobia begins to control the lives of perpetrators and recipients. Written in the tradition of Against Our Will: Men, Women, and Rape (Ballantine Books, 2000), which transformed rape from a private problem into an internationally recognised cultural crisis. Ties That Bind uncovers the hidden crime of `familial homophobia' and moves it into the open.
Item Categories:
  • Family/Relationships
  • Gay
  • Lesbian
  • Nonfiction
Call Number:
HQ76.4 .S38 2009
Is Active:
Yes

Type-Specific Details

ISBN:
9781595588166
Author(s):
Sarah Schulman

Current Status

(Icon) Available for Checkout!